Lunch to Work: $1-2 20sec-1min Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over Organic Spring Mix – Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over      12 variety Organic Spring Mix - Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix – Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Come on, that’s it? 2 ingredients, for someone who claims to be a foodie and excellent home cook who also wants to apply to battle in Food Network “Chopped” kitchen?

Not even adding some nutty tasty cheese or some dried cranberry that not only go really well the veggie and fish, to add more dimension with some savory, tangy sweet.. tones, but def add color and appeal to the dish?

BTW, want to check out my home drill for “Chopped”? Pure madness.

Actually, there are 10 kinds vegetables 12 varieties, all Organic, all baby leafy greens.

$2.6 Organic Spring Mix and Boiling Pot. Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix - Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

$2.6 Organic Spring Mix and Boiling Pot. Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix – Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

  •  Baby Lettuces 3 varieties – a)Red & Green Romaine b)Red & Green Oak Leaf c) Lollo Rossa, Tango
  •  Spinach
  •  Mizuna
  •  Arugula
  •  Frisee
  •  Radicchio
  •  Tat Soi
  •  Mustards
  •  Chards

And this I have to say is a power house. All the above green leaves are “super” on it’s own, the fact that it’s organic is a bonus. Hmm, that gives me an idea, to make a green smoothie!!! I will show you when I get it done.

When it comes down to life, for me, It’s not about the skill, about how good you are, it’s about what you feel like to eat. I am definitely a slave to what my body likes. No matter how scrumptious how addictive a gourmet meal is, you can’t eat like that all the time. At least my body can’t take it that way. That explains why a lot of chef come home just want to have the simplest plain meal for a change.

The fact is, that I just had some Jamaica jerk wings, curried goats the night before. Yum yum. 1st time eating Jamaican food. Not bad. The little quint restaurant is featured on TV and I ordered their specialties. It’s indeed a perfect example of good and bad use of herbs/spices/seasoning.

Left over Jamaican Curry Goat underJerk wing bones, herb butter on Orchid flower. Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix - Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Left over Jamaican Curry Goat underJerk wing bones, herb butter on Orchid flower. Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix – Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Yes, all 4-5 wing pieces are pitchy black hahaha, charcoated, –e–w–, ding ding ding, carcinogen, but they are marinated for a long time, over night? with jerk spices and fell of the bone after I pulled the charcoat skin away, the kind of food I make at home, well, without the jerking and charcoat part, hahaha. Nothing to die for but very pleasant and palatable. Still, I took the left over bones home into my 24/7 warm soup pot.

And yes, I had to tell them I couldn’t eat their seafood chowder, which was recommended by one yelp review. Well, I rarely did that, esp., a restaurant in that small scale, at moderate price, and the chef I recognize was cooking, day and night, I bet. every penny to him is definitely hard earned. I have a soft spot for that.

But I don’t feel bad. Every penny of mine is by no means easy either. If only I can take the chowder home and fix it myself, I’d eat the cost. But 2 sips into it, I already had the urge to throw up. The bulimic, (haha, googled the word) would probably love to have that soup for the last course.

Main ingredients of Mabel's Chicken broth Sweet Chili and chili pepper Organically grown from my garden. Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix - Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Main ingredients of Mabel’s Chicken broth Sweet Chili and chili pepper Organically grown from my garden. Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix – Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

I don’t think they lost money any way. The ingredients probably cost them pennies, for the $8 soup of about a cup. I know, there’s labor, utility, rent…which is part of biz. Even though they did, they should bear it. It’s good for them to get the feedback so they don’t serve the same thing to next customer who’d never go back.  The food and service to me was definitely very good after that.

Well, the waitress, even the chef came out kept hinted about the seafood, the spiciness, may be the culprit. I can totally understand their thought process. After all, I am way more sensitive to things like such than normal people. I just politely told them maybe I haven’t get used to Jamaican spices yet. But, it’s not what I think, hahaha.

It’s true that I know nothing about Jamaican food and spices (looks like the same with the French, the Italian ones except different combo I guess watching the TV episode). I don’t care, a seafood chowder should have main taste like creamy from the milk/cream (in this case, the coconut milk which there’s not much at all for me to tell compared to the overwhelming herb taste), and, sweet and briny from the seafood (which I couldn’t tell whether they were those peanut size bits of something like rubber), and the tone of the seasoning should only be on the side line. In one word, any soup should not taste like medicine concoction.  I don’t like medicine, in any form, even the natural one.

If they want to save money on coconut milk and seafood (the expensive ingredients of that soup) use as little spice as possible to accentuate the milk and the seafood. But I know, if I gave the chef that tip, he probably would jump up to the roof. Just like when I told the handy man how to do and correct a badly installed counter top, hahaha, who the heck am I? Well, I am a smart ass for sure.

Organically grown Sweet Chili from my garden, pepper, Worcestershire sauce, mixed dried fruit and nuts.  Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix - Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Organically grown Sweet Chili from my garden, pepper, Worcestershire sauce, mixed dried fruit and nuts. Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix – Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

You just can’t get too heavy handy on spice like dried rosemary, bay leaves,juneberry …  That’s exactly what my last post touched upon —

“Herbs, herbal teas are very good for you.  So try to incorporate them as much as you can into your diet. Don’t get carried away though. Herbs in general have very assertive taste that can easily ruin your dish, also they, esp. the dried ones, are stronger than your regular vegetable. Can get over dosed. Don’t ever think it’s safe just because things are natural. It doesn’t work that way.” https://mabel8ble.wordpress.com/2013/03/07/whats-the-healthiest-diet-and-cholesterol-myth-that-could-harm-your-health-quick-tip-the-best-camera-is-the-one-you-have-with-you/

The curry goat turned out wonderful. The sauce is really flavorful, the meat is lean and fell out of the bone like the wings. Never had goat before. I wouldn’t like it if there’s not enough spices to keep the gamey taste down. This one is a very good use of spice.

Left over Jamaican Curry Goat. Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix - Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Left over Jamaican Curry Goat. Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix – Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

The starch and veggie that went with the goat was also very palatable. Enjoyed the raisin jasmine rice a lot, a little creamy and a little sweet, but not too much, likely with coconut milk. The Japanese pumpkin was my favorite pumpkin. In fact, I grow some and will cook it soon.  First time eating plantain. Didn’t care for it. No flavor too starchy.

While I was waiting for my curry goat, they got me their toasted bread and herb (I guess jerk) butter. Thank you, I was so hungry. Both the bread and butter were very good. Bread was sweet but not so sweet and it is so much better toasted. The butter is another example of good use of herbs. Wolfed down all 5 bread.

Chicken broth w/sweet chili from my garden, pepper, Worcestershire sauce, mixed dried fruit and nuts.  Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix - Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Chicken broth w/sweet chili from my garden, pepper, Worcestershire sauce, mixed dried fruit and nuts. Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix – Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

On top of the full load of Jamaican food I had the night before, I grazed on nuts, cheese, prune, dried apricot, cranberry.. all day long, plus some chicken soup and my herbal tea of hibiscus and licorice roots. So yes, I don’t feel like to eat a whole lot other than the spring mix and salmon.

It’s actually easier on you digestive system to work on different food one at a time instead of everything all at once. We really thought my Dad was really nuts with different “eating schedule” for rice, soup, veggie and meat. Hey that guy lived to 85. He must have done something right.

After the Salmon spring mix, I had my healthy desert. Well, I can’t say it’s totally healthy, there are 15g and 20g of sugar in the coconut water and blueberry yogurt respectively for the total of 35g. That’s acceptable for me. I can’t stomach unsweenten yogurt that’s for sure, and, got to have some sugar to make the vit c added in the coconut water drinkable. Thank you very much. Of course, everybody makes their own call.

Mabel's Healthy Desert,  Chobani Blueberry Yogurt, Coconut water, w Hibiscus and Licorice Root Tea. Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix - Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Mabel’s Healthy Desert, Chobani Blueberry Yogurt, Coconut water, w Hibiscus and Licorice Root Tea. Mabel Able: $1 20sec Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over 12 variety Organic Spring Mix – Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

And no, it’s not typo. It did only cost me around $1. I couldn’t believe my luck that Costco had 70% on that Organic Spring Mix. Of course, they didn’t advertise. But I am a very shrewd consumer who watch her money closely. I grabbed two boxes right away. I ‘d like to get five if I have freezer space.

The canned Wild Alaska Salmon is of course cheaper than its fresh counterpart. Of course can’t compared to the fresh one. But I’d rather have something chemical free and lean.

Blanch (put in in boiling water or soup) for a few seconds, open the can, you are already in business. The salty liquid in the fish serves as the sauce or salt for the vegetable. So how easy and simple is that?

Canned Wild Salmon and Organic Spring Mix Mabel Able: Lunch to Work: $1-2 20sec-1min Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over Organic Spring Mix - Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Canned Wild Salmon and Organic Spring Mix Mabel Able: Lunch to Work: $1-2 20sec-1min Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over Organic Spring Mix – Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Even if you don’t get discount on the green leaves, it’s would about $2 for the 2 ingredient dish. Still cheap. Throw in some cheese and dry fruit, it’d be a super healthy tasty treat for you. You can take the canned fish, box the raw vegetable and other ingredients to work and microwave it for half-1 min. Voila. Super Healthy Tasty Low Fat Lunch in the office in a minute.

Bon Appetit. Live well, Eat Healthy, Have Fun.

About mabel8ble

Photos, Videos, Food, Entertainment, Fun Fact, Heath Info., Travel, Animals & Nature, Gardening, Decor… Me, Mabel Able: the Super Creative Fun Loving Singing Jr. Martha Stewart; Foodie n Home Cook specializes in Easy Lazy Tasty Healthy Cheap Eats. Live well, Eat Healthy, Have Fun. Enjoy. Have a Good Life and a Good Day https://twitter.com/mabel8ble
Video | This entry was posted in Almond, Blog, Brazil nut, canned fish, Cashew Nut, Chopped, Coconut, cooking, Cooking Instructions, Cooking Tutorial, Dairy, Diet, Dish, Dried Cranberry, Dried fruits, fish, Food, Food Network TV, Foot Network, Fruits, Fun, google, Green leaf Vegetable, Hazel Nut, health, healthy, Healthy Diet, Herbal Tea, Live Well, Eat Healthy, Longevity, Lunch, Meal, nutrition, Nuts, Organic Spring Mix, pancake, pecan, PHOTO CHALLENGES, Photography, potato pancake, Protein, Salmon, Snacks, super food, TV, Vegetable, Video, Weekly, Wild Alaska Salmon, Wordpress, Work, yogurt, youtube and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lunch to Work: $1-2 20sec-1min Wild Caught Alaska Salmon (Canned) over Organic Spring Mix – Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

  1. lexborgia says:

    Mabel, you humurous wonderful woman. Nice voice, funny Videos, great Food. Now, you have way too many tags on your Posts, they will never make it into the wordpress feed…never(spam blocker). Stay within 13tags; they say they raised it to 15 but 15 doesn’t always work, stay within 13. And make the titles of your Posts shorter, much shorter. Repost some of these: new date, use the schedule function) with the changes, then check the feed(tag).
    Whatever you do, don’t stop talking, that is your greatest strength; you’re a very funny Person.

    • mabel8ble says:

      Oh, 13 tags, thanks a lot for the info. Spam blocker. hmm. I didn’t know that.

      Thanks a lot for your kind words and advice.

      You are so knowledgeable. Your blog touches so much variety of subjects and you sure can write in depth.

      Love your post about a good woman.

      You have a wonderful day. Thanks a lot

  2. lexborgia says:

    Good tags for you: exotic food, recipes, cooking, homemade, health, healthy diet, fun Food, longevity, Nutrition, cooking tutorials, Food Network, etc. Check the feed first for the tags you want to use so you can see if that tag even exists, is being used or popular. Try a good mix of tags, some popular and some not too crowded. Go.

    • mabel8ble says:

      Thanks a lot Lexborgia. I like your new avatar. Reminds me of the Cityscope of your country.

      Sorry I am going through a very difficult time not able to handle much at this time.

      How do you decide what are the tags to use? I simply put the popular ones listed by wordpress and those related to my title and content.

      Have a good day.

    • mabel8ble says:

      Thanks a lot Lexborgia, the real writer. I’d keep that in mind. Been through a very difficult time.

Leave a Reply

